What, or who, do we believe…

Have you ever been in a situation where…you hear two sides of the story, and you’re stuck in between those two sides and there are downsides to both?

That’s where I’m at. I have a friend that has told me something quite harsh about a group that I’m a part of. And it relates to my boss. There have been rumors online about it already, but I’d never heard anybody that I know talk about it. And what she was saying sounded pretty convincing. I felt scared. So, I spoke to my boss about it. He denied everything and poked holes in the friend’s story.

There are still a few things that don’t add up in what he’s saying though. He’s also said this has happened before.

The question is, Why? Why does this happen? What is going ON that it keeps happening? I don’t think it’s just one person who is being irrational. There are a group of people, apparently.

It brings me to one incredibly important point: critical thinking.

But how do we do it? We’re not taught in school how to critically think. We usually are told the teacher’s opinion about something and we’re suppose to memorize it and regurgitate it. I feel like that’s the society we live in. I mean, look at the current president of the U.S….oh my GOD. How could a man like that end up running the most powerful country in the world? The question keeps sticking in my mind.

I think most of us don’t know how to critically think. Even the course that I’m a part of claims that they support critical thinking, but then they always offer an “answer” to whatever it is…as if what we explore for ourselves is opinion, and what they say is truth. And I do hear some people saying that this is a working theory, but many people who take the courses are like, Ohhhh that is the ANSWER. And don’t question it. AHHHHH.

I feel like we are all lemmings to a certain extent. Like we look to someone to lead us. Even those most powerful of men have someone, I think. I know men who are very powerful in certain areas of their lives, but bow to their mothers over some things that you’d be so surprised.

I was just looking at the quote I have on my phone lock screen, by Lewis Howes: “Don’t be afraid of losing people. Be afraid of losing yourself by trying to please everyone around you.”

Truth. So, let’s develop our own sense of self, as best as we can. Think about what WE believe. That is our ultimate truth. Practice critical thinking. Trying on different perspectives and why people might be choosing to do what they do.

And owning our actions. Owning where we’re at. It’s so important. If we’re more worried about pleasing other people, then we’re smooshing a piece of our own Self down. Own what we say and who we are and learn to be okay with the fact that not everyone is going to like it. xo

*M

Leave a Reply

