“A book is a dream that you hold in your hand”-Neil Gaiman

It’s like when I ride a bicycle, which I rarely do, I remember just how much I love it!!

I started reading a book last night…I can’t remember what it’s called or who the author is. Since I’ve started reading books digitally (not the same, but it’s more practical in terms of space), I am not as aware of what the book is called nor the author. I will go and check it after this…

Oh, reading. How I love getting into a great book. The one I’m reading is just that…it’s taken me by surprise. I use to always have my nose in a book. Always. “Bookworm” was an understatement. But nowadays, I very rarely read books. Instead, I find myself on Facebook or Instagram or watching Netflix. <sigh> And I also find it harder for a book to engage me.

Well, this one totally has!!! It’s so good! I couldn’t tear myself away from it and I stayed up way later than I should have.

It’s essentially about a woman’s life in 1938 in New York City. It’s fascinating. And to top it off, I had a moment today where I remembered a part of it, and because I had visualized it so clearly while reading it, I wondered…did I watch this on Netflix? Or was that the book? Cool!

It’s so funny…there are things that I love to do, when I’m doing them: reading, singing, playing guitar, riding a bicycle etc, but it’s like I forget that I like it and I don’t do it. What is that all about? I feel like I’m not the only one. Why do we do these things?

Even exercise…I feel good when I’m doing it…or once I’ve finished doing it and I see the results in my body…feeling stronger, flatter stomach, more serotonin…

But, no. I don’t do it. I go shopping. I sleep more. I stay at home, instead of socializing with people.

I swear…this aging thing…is this what happens? Nah. I think it’s more me. Something about me in my life.

But, as a small step, reading a wonderful book is getting me to my happy place! And on that note, time to shower and keep reading! 🙂 xo

*M

 

Leave a Reply

