Technology, hate it and love it…

Don’t get me wrong…I love technology overall. I think it’s amazing the advances that have been made.

Cell phones, for instance. Amazing pocket computers.

However, I can’t even being to explain the amount of time that I’ve spent trying to troubleshoot so many problems that pop up, especially with my cell phones.

For example, today…I got an email saying that my iPad had been taken off as one of my trusted devices. And it requires a two-step verification process to do that. I did not verify it at all (this is another part about technology…more people make it their focus in life to hack technology, like phones, and to use it for their own benefit. This is sad and amoral. AND FRUSTRATING.) So, I reset my Apple ID password. Well…what that does is sign out all of your devices. When I tried to sign back in, it wouldn’t activate iMessage on my main phone number…the one I’ve had for almost 19 years. Since I am out of the country and have put this number on Pay-As-You-Go, it seems that I cannot re-activate the iMessage. SO FREAKIN’ FRUSTRATING. I won’t even get started with the HORRIBLE, HORRRRRIIIIIBBBBBLLLLLEEE and incompetent customer service that I’ve had with Rogers.

<Side bar: ROGERS. Less than satisfactory is a euphemism. Every single time I’ve tried to get something resolved, not only are they not knowledgable and send me on wild goose chases, they also tend to pass me around to about 3 or 4 different people who have no idea what they are talking about, thus resulting in spending hours and hours on the phone with no help. I specifically bought a pay-as-you-go phone plan so I can have a voicemail and call into it every now and then. What they failed to tell me is that you have to set up said voicemail while in the same place as the carrier. Can’t set it up out of country. I paid a $100 more to have that option. And it would’ve been set up if they weren’t incompetent and kept me on the phone until I was literally boarding my flight. FRUSTRATING.>

My guess is that even if I try to call into customer service, they are going to have no idea how to help me. I’m guessing that you have to be connected to their server to set it up or something. Even though my phone is showing that it’s my number…it’s the one associated with the SIM card that’s in it…so, it should work, right?

I dunno. We’ll see how it goes in the morning. Wish me luck!!!! And if you have any idea how to solve it, I’d be ever so grateful. I have done hours of google searches and tried many things. I’ve sent messages on iPhone support chat groups. We shall see if this will resolve! xo

*M

Leave a Reply

