First my mother, forever my friend…

I am one of those lucky people who is friends with their mom.

Today is my mom’s birthday!!!

When she was 16 years old, she got pregnant (unplanned…surprise surprise! This is why sexual education is so important! Although, in this case, I’m pretty happy she was a) uninformed, and b) chose to keep me!)

My mom and I have grown up together in a way. She even refers to us as being a part of the same generation (NOT quite Mamma!) 😉

It has been an interesting journey for us. I know that for me, when I was a kid, we didn’t bond like some people have…between mother and child. I think it was hard…she was busting her butt to make a living and her job was the opposite hours that I was awake. Plus, she was a kid, really. She wasn’t a “typical” mom.

For example, when I was about 4 years old, we went to a drive-in movie. She was driving her speedy white Honda CR-X. It was me, her and her friend Kelly. But wait, you say, aren’t Honda CR-Xs two-seaters? Why, yes indeed! My spot was in the back cubby area, sitting on top of the beer that we smuggled in. Hahaha.

When I think about it, I don’t think we were particularly an affectionate family (besides my grandma, that is). I know that once I was a teenager, and she had main custody of my little sisters, that she tried to be more “mom-like”, but by then…I was who I was. I know that when I was in elementary school, it was mostly my dad who would do my hair, make my lunches etc.

One of the great things about growing up with your mom is that she’s pretty cool. When I tell people that I can talk to my mom about anything…and I mean, ANYTHING, they are always surprised. I don’t know how many friends I have that say, “Oh, I could never talk to my mom about that!” Not me. She is one of the most supportive, caring and compassionate people that I know. For that, I am thankful.

Another favourite memory is when I turned 19 (legal age in BC). Now, I had already been going out for almost a year at that point with someone else’s ID, but still…my birthday is the day after Christmas, so we were all in the small town that my grandparents live in. My mom, who was only 35 at that time (WHOA!!! Crazy, right?!), my aunt (who was 38) and my uncle (who was 34) all went out to the bar with me! I have a distinct memory of wearing the usual 19 year old bar outfit (some small skirt, heels and a little shirt) out and my mom holding me up as we walked down the icy sidewalks between different bars, where she bought me a drink at each of them! For my 30th birthday party, we all went out again! It was so fun!

There are many, many experiences and memories that I could share about my Mamma. The things I’m most grateful for are to have someone who I know loves me, no matter what. Who, even if we fight, we always come back and figure it out together. There is nobody that I have fought with so much, and nobody that I have laughed with so much either. Like, tears-streaming-down-my face laughter (which, for me, is rare). Who, even when I’m floundering and making mistakes, she is still there for me and has my back. That is priceless!

So, happy happy birthday Mamma! Ti voglio bene per sempre!!!!!! xo

*M

Leave a Reply

