Not feeling so zen…

Do you ever have one of those days where you have a few frustrating things happen and then it seems to cloud the whole day?

Sometimes that happens for me and I have a hard time shaking it off. With really thinking, That was an isolated incident and although it was frustrating, it does not have to then trickle into the rest of my day!

My day started innocently enough, albeit with very little sleep (fell asleep…or more like, dozed asleep, around 1am and woke up at 3:45am). Got to the airport with plenty of time. Grabbed something to eat. Called my cell phone company to switch my phone over. I had already previously spoken to them yesterday, having set it all up. Today was suppose to be a simple, two-step process.

It was not. Like yesterday, I was passed around to 3-4 different people who did not understand what the previous people had written and were not only taking up a lot of time, I was stressed because my plane was suppose to start boarding. Fortunately, in this case, it was running late. After getting disconnected and trying to call back but then couldn’t because my phone had been disconnected, I finally got through to someone and finished up the call just before leaving. A few other steps weren’t completed, but the main thing was.

I think I can understand why doctors have such long shifts. When the miscommunication/misinterpretation is life or death, then perhaps it’s more important for the one doctor to see it through as best as possible, vs passing it along to 2 or 3 doctors.

In this moment, as I’m typing this, I am thinking. It’s fine. It’s FINE. In the moment, it felt like a big deal. In the grande scheme of life, it’s not.

It’s been a long day for me…traveling…unpacking…trying to find things that I put somewhere etc (side note: it’s really bothering me that I can’t remember where I put these soaps!)

I think it’s in moments like these that it’s time to take care of ourselves. To breathe, relax, have a nice cup of chamomile tea and sleep early. That is my plan for tonight. One step at a time. xo

*M

Leave a Reply

