It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new liiiiife…

Tomorrow. But, why not start today? I was thinking of saving this title for tomorrow, but then I thought, you know what? This applies to EVERY day! Today is New Years Eve and many people make that a big deal…that the start of a new year is like Aphrodite bathing in the sea and becoming anew.

But that is our lives EVERY day! Just because a calendar year starts, doesn’t mean that’s the big time to do something new. That time can be anytime!!! 2 years ago I decided to stop drinking alcohol for a year. It was December 29th or so and I was thinking of waiting until January 1st. Then I thought, Why not now? Why wait? So I started then. I was so happy with myself. I didn’t drink at the New Years party that I held (except for lemon water) and I woke up January 1st feeling refreshed. It was so great!

This year, 2016, was quite the year. A year of discomfort, instability, new life, new friends, growing self awareness…new new new. It’s interesting…some people are quite good at reflecting and thinking back, being very specific about what their year was like and what they did. If I think of my year, I took a leap and did something completely different, which took me away from all of my comfort: family, friends, the life that I’d been living. It was hard. But a great learning experience. I think I’ve learned to be stronger and rely on myself more. I’ve become more aware of who I am and how I am, in a more honest way. I am still definitely a work in progress. And I have judgments about myself that it’s “taking so long”. I feel like I should have my life more together by this age. But, we are at where we are at, right?

To a wonderful new year ahead. Let’s make it awesome! xo

*M

Leave a Reply

