The big 8-0!

Tomorrow is my grandpa’s 80th birthday party. I’m pretty excited! Mostly because we are going to have a surprise birthday party for him! It has been loosely about 4 months in the planning.

My sister is the one who initiated getting the planning started and then from there, the rest of us came together. Actually, this time, I probably helped the least so far, which is rare because usually I’m the one to take charge. I tracked down many of my grandparents’ friends phone numbers and invited them. In total, there will be 30 of us.

It’s a bit bittersweet because I’m in the middle of an amazing course right now and I’m sad to be missing two days of it.

However, I will not focus on that and instead will focus on celebrating my favourite male in the world: my Nonno!

In 1957, he left his homeland and came to Canada, searching for a better future. He came over by himself, only knowing a few acquaintances on board the ship. He told me stories about working really hard, being taken advantage of because he didn’t know the language, but in the end, prevailing. I have the deepest respect for my grandpa. He is a man of few words, that cares very deeply about his family and most especially, his wife, my Nonna, of 58 years!

He is an example of a human being who persevered, and still to this day, despite the discomfort of various body aches and pains, tends his garden lovingly, while also making his precious vino and helping my Nonna in the house.

When I think of my Nonno, I think about a star bocce player, a man who loves watching soccer-especially Italian, loves his Dr. Phil, Archie Bunker, old movies, wool socks, history, politics, drinks his beer with tomato juice, loves his vino every lunch and dinner, will play Scopa or crib with anyone game to play, loves his birthplace, Istria and most of all, his love of 58 years, my Nonna. He is loyal, funny, silly and one of my most favourite people in the whole wide world.

Nonnicho, ti voglio bene per sempre!!!!!!!!! xo

*M

Leave a Reply

