Music is the soundtrack of my life

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent”-Victor Hugo

I agree. So many songs over the years have been the “soundtrack of my life”. They’ve had so much meaning for me in various moments and I’ve connected to it. I think that’s why so many people idolize musicians…because it feels like those people express what we are feeling. Like they’re explaining it for us.

I remember when I broke up with a boyfriend one time, I made him a breakup mixed CD of songs that represented our relationship for me (I had liked him for 6 years before we even officially dated and we were around each other, in and out of each other’s lives for that time; then we dated for 1.5 years or so-what a roller coaster!) And that was the soundtrack. A full-on roller coaster of songs.

Another time, with another breakup, I was listening to Sarah McLachlan’s “Stupid” (I think that I listened to it a few times hahaha…pretty sure it was on that soundtrack too).

The song “Beautiful Day” by U2 is very uplifting for me. It’s the quintessential song for me expressing the feeling of sunlight on your face, while eating delicious food with people I care about. Breathing in and out.

The whole album “Graceland” by Paul Simon is glorious. It’s my “happy” album. I love it. I couldn’t tell you when I started loving it or why, but I love the mix of the upbeat with Ladysmith Black Mambazo on the tracks. Love it. My soul soars with that one.

Dave Matthews Band…I started liking them because of a boy. One of my first boyfriends. We dated for a month just after high school, but admittedly, I think I had a bit of a crush on him before that. “Crash” and “Before These Crowded Streets” particularly.

My favourite song of all time is “Enter Sandman” by Metallica. I remember hearing that song for the first time when I was like 9 or 10. And, I just love it. I just put it on and I still get goosebumps when I listen to it. The guitar with the drums building…every time. Chills. I can say that I LOVE this song. The lyrics are not the part that I love. It’s the whole guitar riffs and drums. The builds. I saw them live in 2008 with my little sister (we smuggled in little bottles of Screech that my then boss had given me…in my bra. Classy.) When they played “Enter Sandman”, I totally felt emotional. We were on the Floor, right next to the stage. My sister took a picture and I had tears in my eyes. What an experience!

Personally, I love to sing. I feel the most alive when I’m singing. I often find that I can tap into different parts of me when singing a song, that I normally wouldn’t in my daily life. This past summer, I sang a song by Tori Amos “Leather” at this retreat I go to every year. In my opinion, the song is pretty sexy. I am not. Not in the way that many people would define it. I worked on the song and sang it (in front of about 300 people, no less) and I let go…I sang and let go. Literally, during the performance before me, I was warming up outside. I took out my gum, took off my glasses, went out and sang it, came back out, put my glasses back on and put my gum back in my mouth. To me, I think it was pretty good. I didn’t bomb. But the response I got was pretty cool. People that I barely knew were coming up to me. My friend’s boyfriend was like, WOW. I didn’t think that was in her. Music can really “uninhibit” us, if we let it. xo

*M

Leave a Reply

