This is the end…

It sure feels like it, doesn’t it? 90% of my Facebook Newsfeed is about the U.S. Elections right now. People telling other people to vote. A lot of #imwithher.

An hour and a half ago, the power in our building cut out and doesn’t seem to have a chance of coming on in the near future.

I’m not American, and admittedly, I don’t have a lot of knowledge of politics. I really don’t know Hillary Clinton’s track record. I know there are a bunch of celebrities endorsing her. And that people are voting for her because a lot of celebrities are endorsing her. That part I find so sad and a sign of our times nowadays. People not forming decisions for themselves based on knowing their own values and then voting for who they think best represents that. Our culture nowadays is based on celebrity influence and not always thinking for ourselves.

For me, in my values, it is important for me that people of all races, backgrounds, religion, beliefs be respected and allowed to make their own decisions for themselves. I do not believe that a government should have the right to dictate what a woman does with her body.

For someone to be running for President that has absolutely no experience. That does not seem to respect women. That seems to be racist, homophobic and is supported by the Klu Klux Klan.

I find it hard to understand why anybody would vote for him? Or at least, why any woman, person of color, LGBT person, immigrant etc would vote for him?

Which is why it was interesting for me to read this article hypothesizing why some people are voting for Trump.

http://www.cracked.com/blog/6-reasons-trumps-rise-that-no-one-talks-about/

I don’t agree. I grew up in cities my whole life, so I don’t have the direct experience of growing up with the background of the people this article refers to.

Also, from the little that I know, Hillary does not seem like the best option either. But who really is, in politics?! I’ve heard people say that one thing they like about Trump is that he seems to shoot from the hip…that he isn’t spouting manufactured speeches. That he seems “real”. That aspect, I can understand.

How he is real…and what he says, I find abhorrent and very sad. And frightening.

Are people getting dumber? Or more apathetic? More self-serving and completely disconnected from their fellow man?

From what I’ve seen of Trump, from his very own mouth, it scares me to think that he may be the next leader of the most powerful country in the world. It indeed feels like the apocalypse.

The thing that gets me is this…most of the people who are voting for him…do they think, at the end of the day were it to come down to this, that Trump would protect them? No. It is the people with power and money that will survive. And, remember, Donald Trump is a man born with a golden spoon in his mouth. Do you really think he cares for those people who are struggling to put food on their tables and take care of their children?

I was curious because I want to understand where Trump supporters come from. Many people want to shun and diss those people, but they’re just as bad as they think Trump is if they think it’s okay to put down and be an asshole to people who support Trump. That’s the part I feel sad about…that there are people who have differing opinions about things and they think it’s okay to shit on those with opposing viewpoints. The vitriol happening on Facebook right now…?

Shit.

I can feel the fear. The fear of the unknown. The fear of what will happen if Trump were to be the next president. It is scary. There seems to be less of a risk factor with Hillary. But we never know, do we?

Take care of yourselves and be kind this American Election Night. xo

*M

One thought on “This is the end…

Leave a Reply

