There’s a Hero…

If you look inside your heart

You don’t have to be afraid

Of what you are. 

I remember 1993. I had a few tapes that were my favourite: The Bodyguard soundtrack, some old best of the Beach Boys album and Music Box by Mariah Carey. I would listen to those every day and sing along. I especially love the song “Hero”. I find it so beautiful and especially those lines.

 

I feel like it relates to really accepting who we are and where we are at. And that we are our own best champion! I was talking to my best friend of 26 years on the phone tonight and thinking about my life and she spoke about her life. She is a successful academic, who is passionate about her job, married with a beautiful daughter. She owns a house, has a dog and a cat and has dinner get-togethers with a few close couples and their kids every month.

I, on the other hand, do not own a house. I am single. I have no children. I have a job that is okay, but not my passion in life. And I’m almost a year older than her.

I feel like I’m floating along in my life. I’ve had many times where I struggle with accepting myself exactly as I am, where I am. I think there is great power in accepting ourselves where we are at, right now. Then making a decision from there: do I want to stay where I am and own it? Or do I want to make a change?

Sometimes we don’t know how to make a change and we feel stuck. We want to do something different, but we can’t seem to find the motivation to do it. I feel that.

So, let’s take little steps. Let’s choose a few small things, that are important to us. One of mine is to write. I’ve wanted to write a book about my life…I’ve thought about it for years and years, but kept it as a glimmer in my mind. I’m not a writer, so I can’t do that, right?

Or can I? Well, if I don’t even try, then I definitely can’t. So, here I am, writing this blog post. Time to get in a bit of practice every single day. I really didn’t want to do it tonight. I thought, I’m too tired. I’ll do it tomorrow. But, that has been my life pretty much. And here I am. Time to choose something different and be my own Hero.

xo

*M

Leave a Reply

